Skip To Main Content

School Community Council (SCC)

Hello Hawk Community! 

What is School Community Council (SCC)?

General information about Hawthorne’s School Community Council: 

Parents are invited to attend SCC meetings and to share their input on school goals with voting council members.

Currently, meetings will be held online via Zoom at https://slcschools-org.zoom.us/my/kodycolvin

The public is welcome to attend, to bring concerns and issues, and to provide input into the meetings when appropriate.

The purpose and duties of SCC:

School community councils are responsible for preparing plans that are submitted to the school board for approval. They also should assist, as needed, and provide support for the implementation of the approved plans. School community council members are to represent the group that elected them to the school community council, as they make decisions and bring issues to the school community council for consideration.

They may form subcommittees or task forces to address an issue or project and bring it to the school community council for approval. They are a good resource to school and district administrators in bringing issues of concern forward and in providing feedback, upon request.

The school plans for which the school community council has responsibility for developing are:

• The School Improvement Plan

• The School LAND Trust Plan

• The Reading Achievement Plan (elementary)

• The Child Access Routing Plan (all but high schools)

• They also assist in the development of the Professional Development Plan but this plan is ultimately approved and submitted by staff

Who's on the 2021-2022 SCC Committee:

POSITION NAME EMAIL
Chair Ross Chambless rosschambless@hotmail.com
Vice Chair Joseph Nielson

joseph.nielson@slcschools.org

Faculty Representative       Beth Hartung-Soria   beth.hartung-soria@slcschools.org
Principal Kody Colvin kody.colvin@slcschools.org
MELP Representative Emily Benton ebenton@gmail.com
C&A Representative Heather Hendriksen heatherhen@gmail.com
Neighborhood Representative Lindsay Schou schou.lindsay@gmail.com
PTA Representative Megan Buhler meganbuhler3@gmail.com
Faculty Representatives  
Principal Kody Colvin kody.colvin@slcschools.org
SIC Chair Joseph Nielson joseph.nielson@slcschools.org
Faculty Representative Beth Hartung-Soria beth.hartung-soria@slcschools.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meeting dates for the 2021-2022 school year are:

  • September 13

  • October 4

  • November 1

  • December 6 (if needed)

  • January 3

  • February 7

  • March 7

  • April 4

  • May 2

 

School Community Council Meetings

Kody Colvin

Kody Colvin

Principal Elementary School

Resources